4/17/14 Morning Musing – S.O.S.

I’ve already surrendered the house to the tiny terrorists…I’ve was up less than 30 minutes when I silently waved the white flag. Between the dogs and the kids…I just had to run away…there was noise, milk spilled everywhere, (expensive organic milk at that) mind-numbing kid tv shows, fussing, begging for food (from dogs and kids,) more noise, muddy paws on the floor…I ran away and didn’t tell anyone…apparently you don’t have to be all that stealthy and jungle-cat-like when the house is full of noisy kids and puppies…you can just stroll out the front door! (I’m going to remember that!) I’m currently sitting outside drinking my coffee and looking at this beautiful view. I’m not even being deterred by those crazy people who are trying to ruin this beautiful peace and quiet with…exercise. (I think there is an insanity class or boot camp or some other such craziness going on at the park…they keep playing loud music, flailing, throwing stuff, and screaming what I guess is supposed to be encouragement….something about pain and pushing…at each other…I don’t know…it certainly is not appealing to me.) Anyway, I can ignore these people because…well…I don’t have to clean up their mess and I can make out the sounds of the birds over their noise.

I didn’t used to be this way at all. I never tired of being in the middle of everything and everyone…never tired of dancing…never tired of noise and chaos and people and “fun.” Now, it is all different. I enjoy coffee, quiet, writing, more quiet, nature, stillness, and solitude (especially in the morning.) I love being outside despite the allergies and asthma…it somehow feeds my spirit…nature and beauty and space to think…it’s like having a little bit of heaven embracing me.

With the kids being off school from today through Sunday, I’m going to require a lot of escaping to wherever they are not. So, call me a bad mom if you must, but I will be telling them to entertain each other and work out their differences using “playground politics” often. I will recruit them and their child labor to clean up the chaos. I will be the mom that requires them to read books on their days off just because I want some peace.

If any of you want to go for a walk, force our kids to play outside at the park together, have a cup of coffee, or a mimosa or three together (if ever there was a booze created just for breakfast…it’s a mimosa) or anything else…let me know. I’m here in my workout pants, slippers, and sweatshirt…and I’m just not yet prepared for the chaos that is my life on my own yet. I think I could use a little figurative hand-holding and support and company today. So, hit me up! It might just save my kids’ lives. (And I’ve already put the champagne in the fridge!)

P.S. I just re-read this and I know how whiny it sounds…I’m sorry but I’m posting it anyway. This is why S.O.S. is done with Morse code…there is no whining in the dots and dashes.

Leave a Comment